Solidarity is a Two Way Street

2012/02/06

At the OLA Superconference last week I spoke about solidarity for and amongst academic librarians, and tried to make the case that we needed to connect ourselves to citizen/activist movements, and not just focus on advocating amongst “decision-makers.” I tried to make the case that librarians are about more than our graduate degrees, but the profession needs to emphasize (or return to) our  core democratic values  – knowledge, sharing, common space, and freedom of expression. As these issues are near and dear to the goals of this research for citizenship project, I thought I’d attach my talk here for people to read at their leisure. Apologies to those who attended for the break neck pace at which I read the paper, I  was, perhaps, overly excited! Many thanks to Nick Ruest and Krista Godfrey for organizing the session and the workshop which followed, and to Francesca Holyoke and Sam Trosow, my co-panelists. The discussion got a bit lively during and after, with not everyone on the same page, of course – it’s my hope that the panel provoked a conversation which will continue. The speech is in presentation format – which is to say it’s not carefully formatted for publication, reader beware.

ola2012buildingsolidarity

3 Responses to “Solidarity is a Two Way Street”

  1. Lisa Sloniowski Says:

    And relevant… the Occupy movement reaches out to library workers at Harvard. http://www.thecrimson.com/article/2012/2/13/harvard-occupy-library/


  2. […] was the theme of a talk I gave in February of last year at the OLA, around building solidarity in academic librarianship. I […]


  3. […] was the theme of a talk I gave in February of last year at the OLA, around building solidarity in academic librarianship. […]


Leave a Reply

